Esato Mobile
Regional : Asia Pacific : Finally! Free and Fullfledged gprs using Airtel Prepaid(India)
> New Topic
> Reply
< Esato Forum Index > Regional > Asia Pacific > Finally! Free and Fullfledged gprs using Airtel Prepaid(India) Bookmark topic
Page123 ... 604605606>

spartan117 Posts: 3

Guys and Girls,

I don't know whether this TRICK has been posted before (I didn't see anything using the SEARCH engine)

I dont know whether I am allowed to post this, but, WHAT THE HELL

So here it is:

You need a PC or a Laptop and the required connectivity tools ,ie.,
Serial/USB cable OR Infrared Device OR Bluetooth dongle

1) Activate Airtel Live! ( It's FREE so no probs)

2) Create TWO Airtel gprs data accounts (yep TWO) and select the
FIRST as the active profile.

3) Connect your mobile to the PC (or Laptop) and install the driver for
your mobile's modem.

4) Create a new dial-up connection using the NEW CONNECTION
WIZARD as follows

Connecting Device : Your mobile's modem
ISP Name : Airtel (or anything you like)
Phone Number : *99***2#
Username and Password : blank

5) Configure your browser and download manager to use the proxy
100.1.200.99 and port 8080.( My advice is to use Opera since you
can browse both wap and regular websites)

6) Connect to the dial-up account. You will be connected at 115.2
kbps (but remember, that is a bad joke).

7) Pick up your mobile and try to access any site. You will get "Access
Denied..."(except for Airtel Live!). IT DOES NOT MATTER.
Keep the mobile down.

8 ) On the PC ( or Laptop) open your browser, enter any address ,
press ENTER and.......WAIT

9) After a few seconds the page will start to load and you have the
WHOLE internet at your disposal.

10) Thank Spartan117

This method is working for me using my beloved F500i. I have downloaded more than 350 MB of stuff and I have not been charged
a single paisa.The download speeds are decent.

If you have any problems please feel free to contact me, I will be glad to help you
If you have problems with P2P applications contact me.

[ This Message was edited by: spartan117 on 2005-12-15 19:20 ]
--
Posted: 2005-12-15 20:16:12
Edit : Quote

brix25 Posts: > 500

And what sort of speeds do you get when you're talking of P2P connections?
--
Posted: 2005-12-15 20:54:00
Edit : Quote

spartan117 Posts: 3

Since we have to tunnel our way through , the speeds are usually pathetic. If you are lucky you get a fast proxy. I got a max of around 3.2 KB once using Emule.
--
Posted: 2005-12-15 23:27:00
Edit : Quote

whizkidd Posts: > 500

Whats the apn? Should we stick to airtelwap.com?
--
Posted: 2005-12-16 05:26:00
Edit : Quote

blu_6779 Posts: 193

will tunnelling work with the mms profile?
--
Posted: 2005-12-16 05:44:53
Edit : Quote

spartan117 Posts: 3

I am in Chennai. Here are my settings

Under DATA COMM
~~~~~~~~~~~~

APN : airtelfun.com

USERNAME : blank

PASSWORD : blank

PASS REQ : OFF

ALLOW CALLS : AUTOMATIC

IPADDRESS :

DNSADDRESS :

DATA COMP : OFF

HEADER COMP : OFF


Under INTERNET PROFILES
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

INTERNET MODE : HTTP or WAP (both worked for me)

USE PROXY : YES

IP ADDRESS : 100.1.200.99

PORT : 8080

USERNAME :

PASSWORD :


Hope this helps

By the way I would advice you to delete your old settings,restart the phone and create new accounts.
--
Posted: 2005-12-16 05:52:12
Edit : Quote

whizkidd Posts: > 500

Hmmm....i've used the live settings for browsing sites (html included) on the phone... But, since gprs is cheap here i've never bothered to try the free wap trick on pc! I'll try this later...
--
Posted: 2005-12-16 05:56:00
Edit : Quote

spartan117 Posts: 3

Quote:

On 2005-12-16 05:44:53, blu_6779 wrote:
will tunnelling work with the mms profile?




Tunnelling requires atleast one open port so I guess it should work.

Guys if this trick worked for you please reply here.
--
Posted: 2005-12-16 06:14:30
Edit : Quote

mamtaj Posts: 135

Is this service is available in Up east

This message was posted from a WAP device
--
Posted: 2005-12-16 15:20:59
Edit : Quote

spartan117 Posts: 3

Quote:

On 2005-12-16 15:20:59, mamtaj wrote:
Is this service is available in Up east



This message was posted from a WAP device




Sorry my dear friend,
As the title suggests this is for Airtel India.

But why don't you try this trick using your service provider's settings and see whether it works
--
Posted: 2005-12-16 16:26:02
Edit : Quote
Page123 ... 604605606>

New Topic   Reply
Forum Index

Esato home