Esato Mobile
Regional : Americas : GSM phone that works both in USA and India ?
> New Topic
> Reply
< Esato Forum Index > Regional > Americas > GSM phone that works both in USA and India ? Bookmark topic
Page123>

jpxavier Posts: 0

I am planning to go to India for vacation and would like to carry a cell phone that works in India using some local provider in India.
Can someone recommend a phone (and/or service provider) that works in the US and in India ? Basically I want purchase any locally available pre-paid cards in India and use it in my phone while on vacation and put the original card back in when I am back in the USA. I heard India uses 900 GSM/GPRS where in the USA it is 850/1900.

Thanks much,
Jose Xavier
--
Posted: 2003-09-23 00:12:30
Edit : Quote

shaggyhog Posts: 164

have used my t68i in both india and usa so can guarantee that one.. but any such tri-band pone should do the trick e.g. t610 (t616?)

before you go check the roaming charges.. although they're high, do they really add up to more than the initial cost of your indian sim over a 2-week period? unless you plan to return within about 6 months or whenever that sim's number will expire without top-up...

i haven't been anywhere where sims r that cheap yet... you say it's a vacation, so u can't be pllanning to use it lots
--
Posted: 2003-09-23 01:12:53
Edit : Quote

Indianbwoy Posts: 108

Any phone that is Dual-Band/Tri-Band should work in India and as for the USA, as long as its a GSM network ur on, a Tri-Band phone should work (which is most phones on the market nowadays including T68i/P800/T610)

You can get loadsa Pre-Paid mobile cards in India, its cheaper too if u wanna call to Indian numbers as roaming charges for me were 0.80p-1.30pm/20-25p per txt msg. Also it seems in most places a mobile is cheaper than using a landline in India.
_________________
T68i, P800
Nokia 3650

[ This Message was edited by: Indianbwoy on 2003-09-23 01:19 ]
--
Posted: 2003-09-23 02:13:35
Edit : Quote

fijbert Posts: > 500

http://www.esato.com/phones/
a wide selection of different phones
just check for the ones that hv bands 1900/1800/900
--
Posted: 2003-09-23 02:18:18
Edit : Quote

kryptonite_999 Posts: 0

I have a nokia 3595 Tmobile which i had unlocked.This phone is dual band and works on GSm 850/1900.I made this mistake of buying this phone from ebay as im in india and this phone doesnt accept any network.i want someone to tell me please what i can do to get this phone working on gsm 900/1800.Please dont tell me nothing can be done,tell me something will work and something can be done.Please ..help....
--
Posted: 2004-09-20 16:30:14
Edit : Quote

govigov Posts: > 500

Cheap sim cards and callin rates guaranteed! :-) get the triband, or else buy a phone after reachin india. This message was posted from a T230
--
Posted: 2004-09-20 17:01:26
Edit : Quote

plasmadog Posts: > 500

yeah,
i think buying a phone in india is cheaper because handset prices are low. also, u get a warranty.
there are loads of pay as u go cards which offer nationwide roaming.
bsnl has the widest coverage network,
airtel has the best service nationwide... with gprs/wap connectivity.
right now.. 800/900/1800 GHz bands are being used.
so i suggest u pick up any triband phone.
cheers.

--
Posted: 2004-09-20 19:49:19
Edit : Quote

Residentevil Posts: > 500

I would go with T-mobile. They are the only true GSM provider in the USA. Buy a triband 900/1800/1900. You'll be able to use T-mobile in US on 1900 and you will have coverage in India through either them (roaming) or a local provider on 900. Air Tel India is a large provider there.
They offer the T610. Or go with a T630 from a internet shop.

Cheers
--
Posted: 2004-09-20 20:38:22
Edit : Quote

Roshan Posts: 0

I'm planning to Buy palmOne Treo 650.
This has Digital Cellular Technology: GSM 1800Mhz, GSM 900Mhz

I'm planning to go back to INDIA in few months and am wondering if the GSM technolgy by local providers in India (say Airtel or Cell One) would work?

Checked on some sites and found majority of Indian GSM cellphone providers are using GSM 900. So i assume Treo650 would work?

Question 1> I AM NOT SURE OF TRI BAND CONCEPT. IS THIS COVERED IN GSM? SHOULD I BE LOOKING IN Treo SPECIFICATION FOR SOME OTHER COMPATIBILITY?

Question 2> Is Treo 650s offering of GSM 900 the same as GSM cell phone providers in India? Will putting a Indian SIM work in Treo650?

Any inputs/experiences are highly appreciated.
--
Posted: 2005-04-09 23:42:24
Edit : Quote

shyam335 Posts: > 500

the best solution is to get a quad band phone 850,900,1800,1900

Quote:
On 2005-04-09 23:42:24, Roshan wrote:
I'm planning to Buy palmOne Treo 650.
This has Digital Cellular Technology: GSM 1800Mhz, GSM 900Mhz

I'm planning to go back to INDIA in few months and am wondering if the GSM technolgy by local providers in India (say Airtel or Cell One) would work?

Checked on some sites and found majority of Indian GSM cellphone providers are using GSM 900. So i assume Treo650 would work?

Question 1> I AM NOT SURE OF TRI BAND CONCEPT. IS THIS COVERED IN GSM? SHOULD I BE LOOKING IN Treo SPECIFICATION FOR SOME OTHER COMPATIBILITY?

Question 2> Is Treo 650s offering of GSM 900 the same as GSM cell phone providers in India? Will putting a Indian SIM work in Treo650?

Any inputs/experiences are highly appreciated.


most networks here work (including airtel,cellone) in 900mhz and 1800 mhz frequencies,so u wont have much problem with it.
--
Posted: 2005-04-10 14:57:30
Edit : Quote
Page123>

New Topic   Reply
Forum Index

Esato home