Esato Mobile
Sony Ericsson / Sony : UMTS / 3G : 3g phones....
> New Topic
> Reply
< Esato Forum Index > Sony Ericsson / Sony > UMTS / 3G > 3g phones.... Bookmark topic
Page12>

Rhino8 Posts: 104

What does the Sony 3g phones cost. And excuse the stupidity,but if i use 3g to surf wap will i pay 3g rates or gprs rates?
--
Posted: 2005-01-10 18:21:00
Edit : Quote

scotsboyuk Posts: > 500

@Rhino8

Which handset are you enquiring about, the Z1010 or the V800?

Data prices are provided by your network, but Vodafone in the UK seem to use the standard GPRS charges for their 3G customers, the difference being that one can download data a lot faster.
--
Posted: 2005-01-17 04:24:10
Edit : Quote

OluYom Posts: > 500

Z1010 costs about US$715 here in Nigeria. @Scots: I hear inserting a 2G SIM in a 3G phone can damage either or both SIM & phone, but I see people running around here with a 16k 2G SIM on 3G NECs, Motos & SEs. How can this be?

This message was posted from a P800
--
Posted: 2005-01-17 05:41:44
Edit : Quote

Debu Posts: > 500

The Z1010 is a dualmode phone, so, i don't think that either sim or handset would get damaged.
--
Posted: 2005-01-17 06:16:59
Edit : Quote

OluYom Posts: > 500

@Debu: I see. Thanks.

This message was posted from a P800
--
Posted: 2005-01-17 06:31:39
Edit : Quote

Debu Posts: > 500

@aya: Glad to help

this should help you guys
--
Posted: 2005-01-17 07:18:04
Edit : Quote

Dragonfly_TP Posts: > 500

either you use GPRS via GSM (slow)
or GPRS via UMTS (3G) (fast)
--
Posted: 2005-01-17 09:07:56
Edit : Quote

Debu Posts: > 500

@dragonfly : you will find yourself wrong there. When using GSM, one may use EDGE, which has speeds upt 384kbps. WCDMA (or UMTS in Europe) uses an entirely different tecnology called RTT data tranfer, whilst EDGE is based on gprs, RTT is very different.
--
Posted: 2005-01-17 09:19:46
Edit : Quote

MsJ Posts: 85

Thats right! I'v just got a Nec338 which is on 'network three' (three.co.uk) i thought it wud hav the 2g gprs / wap browser aswel as the 3g services. But can only seem to get 3's services! Wud b glad of any1s advice on this thanks!

This message was posted from a Nokia
--
Posted: 2005-01-17 13:29:18
Edit : Quote

scotsboyuk Posts: > 500

@MsJ

3 restrict their customers to their own content, menaing that you cannot access the wider internet or use your handset as a modem.
--
Posted: 2005-01-17 14:00:56
Edit : Quote
Page12>

New Topic   Reply
Forum Index

Esato home